My roots have been ripped out from beneath me…

Scroll down. Ever felt like this? Unanchored. Floundering. Lost. Toppling. Ungrounded. Unstable. Are you feeling anxious yet?  When this tree in my backyard was being ripped out of the ground I felt like my heart was being pulled out of my chest.  My inner turmoil was paralleling the chaos outside.

It’s not often that I feel completely out of control, not knowing what to do, how to stay safe, wondering which way to turn. I have to say, I didn’t like it. During the storm I realized just how ignorant I am in some regards, but the experience also brought me right back to how I have to anticipate not being able to control everything in my life! There was nothing I COULD do in this situation. What the heck can I do to stop a freaking tornado?

Absolutely nothing!! Except …..work on staying calm and gathering the necessary provisions to be as safe as possible. Sound familiar? This is a great metaphor for responding to life’s unanticipated and less than welcome circumstances.

Oftentimes we cannot control what happens, what people say, or if a natural disaster wreaks havoc and rips the trees in our back yards right out of the ground. But we can control what happens upstairs, in our brains, and our reactions to the situations we’re in.

Develop your severe weather plan. Know who to call, where to go, what to gather up, and when to take action. Why? So you can feel empowered to respond effectively even during the most chaotic of events.

Published by kpropstmiller

Hi, I'm Kori Propst Miller! More than a name, I'm a leader, a lover, and a changemaker. I've earned a bachelor’s degree in exercise physiology, a master of science in counseling, and a doctorate in health psychology and behavioral medicine, and because one of my key character strengths is love of learning, I've enhanced my education with certifications in personal training, health coaching, mindfulness meditation, & lifestyle and weight-neutral nutrition and intuitive eating counseling. I'm fairly certain that this list will grow longer as I continue to evolve, but in the meantime, you'll find me writing, exploring the mountains, cycling, target shooting, wrestling with my husband and our five furballs, and advocating for accessible and innovative mental wellbeing services that help people come home to themselves, know they're not alone, and know they matter!

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

  1. Just what I needed in my own personal storm! You are so right Kori…thanks for that much needed mental adjustment! I CAN control how I react to unpleasant situations – just got to learn to remember that while they’re happening!

  2. Absolutely what I needed to read at this time! You have so much wisdom. Thanks for sharing. I mean really…storms/sirens helped send me to have a two evening binge. I gotta nip that or what will become of me living in storm central! 2fat2leavethehouse is what would happen.

Leave a comment