The Mecca of Meta- Dive Deeper to Find Meaning!

20 Aug

I can sit here at my computer staring at the screen for hours pilfering what feels like every single little freaking brain cell to uncover what I can only hope sometimes will resonate with you, my gracious readers. What to write….what to write.  At times gouging my eyes out might be less painful than scrounging for the words to describe what I so desperately want to tell you!

It is in that place of frustration though when I’m brought right back to one of the greatest concepts I have ever learned about.  The META level!

No, it’s not some strange philosophy. It’s the underlying meaning of things. So when I’m struggling to find something to write about, the meta of this would be writing about my struggling! It’s brilliant and wonderful and it gives us the ability to look at the PROCESS versus the CONTENT!

I have a question on the form I use to gather information about new people I’m working with that gets at the heart of this. I want to know if the person I’m beginning this journey with has thought about his thoughts.  When I say this out loud– “Do  you ever think about your thoughts?”–I get some very puzzled looks!

Think about what operating on a meta level in relationships would do for our communication and the intimacy we can create with others!  Think about what could happen if in situations when you don’t know what to say, you actually said you didn’t know what to say.

And what if….(beware: the upcoming sentence is a huge run-on, and you might have to read it a few times for it to make sense) when you were feeling uncomfortable and your tendency is to not say anything at all because you don’t know how you’re feeling, but ‘something’ is written all over your face and when asked what’s wrong you say “nothing”, you actually said, “I’m not sure. I don’t feel good, but I can’t pinpoint how I feel.” What if that?!

Think about how many misunderstandings could be avoided if we were more rational thinkers who thought about what we think about and what those thoughts mean and what influence they have!

Yep, it means diving deeper. It requires going to another level. It demands some digging beneath the surface. But imagine, just imagine, how  much better you could know yourself if you did go there!

I’m going to the Mecca of Meta! Care to join me?

2 Responses to “The Mecca of Meta- Dive Deeper to Find Meaning!”

  1. Donloree August 21, 2012 at 10:40 PM #

    My husband and I have started to do this over the past couple of years. It leads to some hilarious conversations (especially when others overhear) but less stress and more ‘togetherness’ on things.
    I also have funny internal conversations, but being stuck in the meta means I’m flying in life! Great post.

    • kpropst August 22, 2012 at 12:27 PM #

      Donloree, what a valuable activity to be doing as a couple!I think far too many couples use “activities” when they are struggling as opposed to every day opportunities. Imagine doing this for fun, to get to know each other better, to understand what makes your love tick! The meta gives us a new take and gets us in the habit of looking past the obvious and asking “what might be the alternative?”

Leave a Reply

