My Week-long Wanderlust: Day 2

14 Jul

After 4 hours of sleep, Kristen and I arose with  dark circles. Grateful to be settled though, a unanimous decision came quickly to lay low for the day.

“No 7-hour hike today?” I questioned with a smile.

Staying in a condo with a full kitchen, our first priority was to get some food. We’d both brought some items to snack on, but not wanting to feel obligated to eat out for every meal, we needed to find a grocery store. We got ready to venture out knowing that there was a Safeway close by, and we figured we’d have a late breakfast at one of the local hot spots.  Both of us had done a bit of mapping out the area, and it was the Westside Cafe that was at the top of the list.

We decided to walk the 1.5 miles to the small shopping center, enjoy the view and get a bit of exercise. Vail-Morning Walk to Breakfast 7.13.13and at 9:30am we arrived ready to gobble down the our first meal. The Westside Cafe’s specialty: Captain Crunch French Toast. As I passed by the other tables I was eying the pancakes and the fluffy omelets. Breakfast being my favorite meal, I was eager to peruse the menu. The couple seated next to us had each polished off a huge stuffed burrito smothered in green chile, and he commented to the waitress, “I try the burritos at every place we stop, and this was by far the best I’ve had!” I smiled. He was trying to scrape every last drop of chile off his plate. “I’m waiting for you to lick your plate!” I said with a grin and a smile. They both chuckled. It’s something I would have done.

I ordered an egg white scramble with feta cheese, smoked salmon, onions, and tomatoes. It was served with a warm pita. I was as happy as a pig in a blanket! I wish I’d gotten a picture of Kristen’s fare. Eggs benedict with chorizo, served over what looked like breakfast quesadillas and a pound of hashbrowns. Buried in our respective meals, I looked up after 5 minutes, and she was watching me. Her plate was empty and I was a quarter of the way through my meal. “Impressive,” I said. “Nice work!” She sat back in satisfaction.

As I finished my meal the decision was made to hit the renowned farmers market the following day, cook dinner in, and just relax and watch some movies . We looked forward to an unplanned day of respite but knew we’d want to get some activity in soon.

Getting back around 11am we walked through the front door and were greeted with a wall of oppressive heat. We’d made the mistake of leaving the drapes open along the side of the condo absorbing every possible ray of sun, and there was an immediate dash to the bedroom to throw on shorts and tanks and move the box fans into the room. No air-conditioning. This would be a test of our resilience. Tomorrow we’d perhaps plan to be out the bulk of the day!

Timothy Green kept us company for a couple hours. Bradley Cooper entertained us for another couple. 20130713_194101And then it was time to introduce Kristen to spaghetti squash. Not having done much cooking herself, I was excited to show her something simple she could make on her own. I simmered up some chicken breast in mushroom and onion marinara with zucchini and baked up a squash. When I pulled it out of the oven, she looked at it quizzically and said, “What do you do with it?” I smiled as I demonstrated the scooping of the strands from the soft, outer skin.  “Easy,” I said, and I handed her a plate full of spaghetti marinara a la healthy style!

Our evening ended at 9pm with intentions of an early wake-up and a jog into the village for a bit of exploring. We fell asleep not desperate, but eager for the next day ahead!

Leave a Reply

