No new experience, no new insight…

23 Jul

Feel the PathNo new experience, no new insight. This is Halcolm’s Law of Induction. Until I was given the space to be out of my normal environment, it was my unthought known…or perhaps more accurately, my undone experienced.

And so I continue to travel, though my Week-Long Wanderlust has officially ended.

Learning need not come from books, but read, read, and read some more. Learning must come from the yearning and then acquisition of observation and inquiry when we are in doubt (which often leads us to books). But then when we think we are certain, we must realize this is a signal to observe and inquire even more.

Halcolm said: There is no burden of proof. There is only the world to experience and understand. Shed the burden of proof to lighten the load for the journey of experience.

I came back from my vacation feeling very different. And different is the best way I can describe it. “Different than what?” you might be asking. Different than my normal. Different than my to-do list making, regimented, scheduled, calculating, mapped out and planned self. I stepped out of the box. And while I’m back to doing these same things, there is a lightness about it.

20130718_115003(0)As I think about what being away was like for me, and the spaciousness that I walked into, the restorative benefits were so immense it just makes me pause to recognize the value of 1) nature (I was outside almost every day, in the sun, breathing in the fresh mountain air, appreciating the trees and the breeze); it was nourishing and revitalizing. And 2) walking headlong into opportunities, be them people, places, the unknown; or more so, seeing each of our moments as opportunities. The second one is not new to me, but it feels fresh.

My take-away:

“Dream delivers us to dream, and there is no end to illusion. Life is like a train of moods like

a string of beads, and, as we pass through them, they prove to be many-colored lenses which

paint the world their own hue. . . . ”

― Ralph Waldo Emerson

4 Responses to “No new experience, no new insight…”

  1. agreco71 July 24, 2013 at 1:07 AM #

    Every week I find a new place to explore in nature and every time I view the world in a balanced state of mind. I know exactly what your feeling. Another great post.

    • kpropst July 24, 2013 at 9:17 AM #

      Agreco71- thank you. Can I ask if you typically explore on your own? By yourself? Share the experience with another person? Do you use your exploration as a catalyst for self-exploration? I find it nearly impossible to not move inward when in nature, but with this comes creativity that I can apply to my more achievement-oriented work and goals.

      • agreco71 July 24, 2013 at 9:48 AM #

        All my 14ers and big mountain hikes are solo (sometimes with my dog). My small local Colorado Springs hikes and camping trips I take my boys to create passion for hiking/camping. As for the Lewis and Clark cross country hikes, for the most part solo. I have a team that hunts, sets up camp and rescues me from weather (and one sheriff!). I do the hiking and research. My experience on solo hikes is internally invigorating and balancing. However, hiking with my boys is equally rewarding as I watch them explore nature for the first time. It provides unique perspectives.

      • kpropst July 24, 2013 at 5:11 PM #

        Oh, yes! I bet your boys are wonderful reminders of how important a childlike curiosity is!

Leave a Reply

